Our Mission

To increase engagement between patients/families and providers for better healthcare outcomes.

CPS Founder Patty Skolnik is a voice for patients and families in healthcare. She's a presenter, trainer and an advocate.

Our Inspiration

Michael Skolnik was a nursing student when he lost his life as a result of medical error.

His parents, Patty and David Skolnik, promised Michael to leave the medical profession better than he found it. CPS is that promise in action.

Read more »


Michael J. Skolnik Patient Safety Award

Citizens for Patient Safety is now accepting nominations for the 2015 Michael J. Skolnik Patient Safety Award. The award was established to recognize individuals, teams or organizations that have demonstrated exemplary dedication and leadership in advancing patient safety across Colorado. It is named in honor of Michael Skolnik, a young man who died following complications related to medical error. This is the second year the award is being offered. The recipient will be honored with an honorarium of $3,000 and a trophy at the CHA Patient Safety Leadership Congress on October 20, 2015. The recipient must be present at the Congress to receive the award.

Anyone can submit a nomination, and self-nominations are accepted. The nominee must be a person, team or organization that is actively involved with patient safety initiatives in Colorado. Nominees can include direct caregivers, health care executives or leaders, health care organizations, individuals who have actively promoted patient safety or students who have shown notable leadership in patient safety. Only one recipient will be selected for award.

We strongly encourage you to submit a nomination for a coworker, your team, your organization or yourself! A completed nomination form and attached narrative must be submitted via email to nancy.griffith@cha.com by midnight July 31, 2015. Any nominations submitted after July 31st will not be considered. You will receive a confirmation receipt within five business days of submission of the nomination form. Click here for the nomination form.